Summer Rule #1 – Laying Out is NOT a Sport

13 Jun

Oh the sweet tranquility of Summer break…

Today was my first true day of Summer vacation; while I love the extra couple hours of sleep and the freedom of running errands in the middle of the day, I must say that I lazed off on one two areas today. For someone who wants to lose weight to regain a healthy lifestyle, I sure didn’t show it in my eating or activity level. So this evening I drew up a little plan for this weeks workouts and eats.

You know it hit me like a ton of bricks this evening, thinking that I had all the time in the world to get to the gym or go on a walk yet didn’t put forth the effort. For being someone who desired to make a change, I certainly need to change habits. Which led me to a couple questions:

1) Why can I make the time and effort to go grab coffee downtown in the morning, but can’t drive myself 2 minutes away to the gym?

2) Why will I waste my time going out to eat when I can use the same amount of time to  create something both delicious and healthy at home?

These are both questions I’m going to think over this next week, because like I mentioned: I need to address and change these habits.

First of on my wonderful spreadsheet, I’ve included a workout plan. I’m jumping head first on this, because I know myself and know that I LOVE to feel the burn and not be able to sit right for a week. I’ve added variety, including a local walking trail, typical gym equipment, and group fitness. After reading Katie’s guest post on Beth’s blog, I felt really inspired to add variety to my workout plan of attack. I’m most looking forward to the Latin Heat on Saturday, because this girl ain’t got no rhythm.

Untitled

 

This second spreadsheet includes my eats for the week! Once again I’m going for variety with a big blob of simplicity!

Untitled

2 Responses to “Summer Rule #1 – Laying Out is NOT a Sport”

  1. Sydney Drinkwater June 14, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    Good luck with your new plan! I just got a blender so I have a bunch of “healthy’ smoothie recipes I want to try soon. What’s the weather like for you now down there?

    • sydneyspeaks June 22, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

      Thanks! It’s going well so far 🙂 Weather is fantastic, it’s getting nice and toasty meaning pool time!!! yay

Leave a Reply

